## 1. Which is the river island of Brahmaputra?

- a) Isukathippa Island
- b) Majuli
- c) Minicoy Island
- d) Netrani Island

ANSWER: b) Majuli

The island is formed by the Brahmaputra river in the south and the Kherkutia Xuti which is a stream of the Brahmaputra. It is joined by the Subansiri River in the north.

- 2. Which dam is built on the Mahanadi?
- a) Bhakra Dam
- b) Hirakud Dam
- c) Nagarjuna Sagar Dam
- d) Sardar Sarovar Dam

ANSWER: b) Hirakud Dam

It is one of the first major multipurpose river valley projects started after India's independence.

- 3. Which is the largest river system of the peninsular India?
- a) The Brahmani
- b) The Cauvery
- c) The Godavari
- d) The Krishna

## ANSWER: c) The Godavari

The Godavari river is the sacred river of central India. It rises near the Trimbak in the district of Nasik.

- 4. Which Indian river rises from Trimbak Plateau of North Sahyadri?
- a) Mahanadi
- b) Godavari
- c) Krishna
- d) Cauvery

## ANSWER: b) Godavari

It starts in Maharashtra and flows into the Bay of Bengal via the states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh. It forms one of the largest river basins in India.

- 5. Which is the right bank tributary of Godavari?
- a) Amravati
- b) Barna
- c) Arunavati
- d) Manjira

## ANSWER: d) Manjira

Manjira passes through the states of Maharashtra, Karnataka and Telangana. It originates in the Balaghat range of hills and empties into the Godavari river.

<u>Techofworld.In</u> <u>Techofworld.In</u>

- 6. Which one of the following is designated as "the Ganga of the South―?
- a) The Brahmani
- b) The Cauvery
- c) The Krishna
- d) The Mahanadi

ANSWER: b) The Cauvery

Its source lies at Taal Cauvery on the Brahmagiri range of hills in the Western Ghat.

- 7. In which Indian river is Shivanasamudra waterfalls situated?
- a) Cauvery
- b) Brahmani
- c) Godavari
- d) Krishna

ANSWER: a) Cauvery

The Cauvery rises in southwestern Karnataka. It flows southeast to enter the Bay of Bengal. It forms the island of Shivanasamudra at East of Mysore. On either side of the island are the Shivanasamudra Falls. The river is the source for an extensive irrigation system and for hydroelectric power.

8. Which one of the following does not belong to the tributaries of the Brahmani?

- a) Chitravari
- b) Kura
- c) Sankhad
- d) Tikra

ANSWER: a) Chitravari

Kura, Sankhad and Tikra are the tributaries of the Brahmani.

- 9. Which one of the following does not belong to the tributaries of the Penneru?
- a) Chitravari
- b) Hatmati
- c) Cheyeru
- d) Jayamangli

ANSWER: b) Hatmati

The principal tributaries are the Jayamangli, the Kunderu, the Chitravari, the Papagani and the Cheyeru.

- 10. Which is the largest of all the west flowing rivers of the Peninsula?
- a) The Luni
- b) The Mahi
- c) The Narmada

d) The Sabarmati

ANSWER: c) The Narmada

It is also known as "Life Line of Madhya Pradesh―.

- 11. On which Indian river is the Duandhar Falls located?
- a) Narmada
- b) Tapi
- c) Sabarmati
- d) Mahi

ANSWER: a) Narmada

The Dhuandhar Falls is a waterfall in Jabalpur district in the state of Madhya Pradesh.

- 12. Which is known as 'the twin' of the Narmada?
- a) The Luni
- b) The Mahi
- c) The Tapi
- d) The Sabarmati

ANSWER: c) The Tapi

It originates from Multai in Betul district of Madhya Pradesh.

13. Which one of the following does not belong to the tributaries of the Sabarmati?

- a) Panjnad
- b) Hatmati
- c) Meshwa
- d) Sedhi

ANSWER: a) Panjnad

The tributaries of the Sabarmati are Hatmati, Sedhi, Wakul, Meshwa, Vatrak etc.

14. Which one of the following does not belong to the tributaries of the Mahi?

- a) Ib
- b) Som
- c) Anas
- d) Panam

ANSWER: a) Ib

The main tributaries are Som, Anas, Panam.

15. Which is the river basin with the largest catchment area?

- a) Ganga
- b) Indus
- c) Godavari

<u>Techofworld.In</u> <u>Techofworld.In</u>

d) Krishna

ANSWER: a) Ganga

Ganga is the river basin with the largest catchment area of 8,61,452 sq km followed by Indus with 3,21,289 sq km, Godavari with 3,12,812 sq km, Krishna with 2,58,948 sq km, Brahmaputra with 1,94,413 sq km, Mahanadi with 1,41,589 sq km.