<u>Techofworld.In</u> <u>Techofworld.In</u>

31. When did the British government conducted the first All India

Census?

- a) 1951
- b) 1881
- c) 1872
- d) None of these

Answer b) 1881

A systematic and modern population census, in its present form was conducted non synchronously between 1865 and 1872 in different parts of the country. This effort culminating in 1872 has been popularly labeled as the first population census of India However, the first synchronous census in India was held in 1881.

- 32. When was the Vernacular Press Act passed?
- a) 1878
- b) 1861
- c) 1872
- d) None of these

Answer a) 1878

Vernacular Press Act. Vernacular Press Act, in British India, law enacted in 1878 to curtail the freedom of the Indian-language (i.e., non-English) press.

- 33. When was the Durand line established?
- a) 1914
- b) 1893
- c) 1944
- d) None of these

Techofworld.In Techofworld.In

Answer b) 1893

The Durand Line was a frontier boundary between Afghanistan and British India. It was established after an 1893 memorandum of understanding (MoU) between Mortimer Durand of British India and Afghan Amir Abdur Rahman Khan.

- 34. Who founded several Vedanta societies in the West?
- a) Ramakrishn Paramhansa
- b) Rabindranath Tagore
- c) Swami Vivekananda
- d) None of these

Answer c) Swami Vivekananda

The first Vedanta Society, the Vedanta Society of New York, was founded by Swami Vivekananda in November 1894. Vivekananda later on asked Swami Abhedananda to lead the organization in 1897.

- 35. Who led to the introduction of English education in India?
- a) Thomas Babington Macaulay
- b) Lord Curzon
- c) Lord Chelmsford
- d) None of these

Answer a) Thomas Babington Macaulay

In India Thomas Babington Macaulay is fully credited with the official introduction of English education, though the necessary order on the subject was issued by Bentinck, the Governor-General of India, on 7 March 1835 after going through a long rhetorical minute written by the former on 2 February 1835 at the latter's request.

Techofworld.In Techofworld.In

36. Who among the following is remembered for the annulment of the partition of Bengal?

- a) Viscount Wavell
- b) Lord Chelmsford
- c) Lord Curzon
- d) None of these

Answer c) Lord Curzon

The decision to effect the Partition of Bengal was announced on 19 July 1905 by the Viceroy of India, Lord Curzon. The partition took place on 16 October 1905 and separated the largely Muslim eastern areas from the largely Hindu western areas.

- 37. In which year the Indian councils act commonly known morley-minto reforms passed?
- a) 1909
- b) 1911
- c) 1908
- d) None of these

Answer a) 1909

The Indian Councils Act 1909 or Morley-Minto Reforms or Minto-Morley Reforms was passed by British Parliament in 1909 in an attempt to widen the scope of legislative councils, placate the demands of moderates in Indian National Congress and to increase the participation of Indians the governance.

- 38. When did the British capital of India shifted from Kolkata to Delhi?
- a) 1920
- b) 1911
- c) 1921
- d) None of these

Techofworld.In Techofworld.In

Answer b) 1911

During the Delhi Durbar on 12 December 1911, George V, then Emperor of India, along with Queen Mary, his consort, made the announcement that the capital of the Raj was to be shifted from Calcutta to Delhi, while laying the foundation stone for the Viceroy's residence in the Coronation Park, Kingsway Camp.

- 39. Who was the viceroy of India when the Rowlatt act 1919 was passed?
- a) Lord Irwin
- b) Wavell
- c) Lord Chelmsford
- d) None of these

Answer - c) Lord Chelmsford

Lord Chelmsford served as Governor General and Viceroy of India from 1916 to 1921. Important events during his tenure included Lucknow Pact (1916), Khilafat Movement, Emergence of Gandhi as national leader, passing of Rowlatt Act and Jallianwalla Bagh Tragedy (1919), Non-Cooperation Movement, Third Afghan War and Treaty of Rawalpindi, August Declaration (1917), Montague-Chelmsford Reforms (1919).

- 40. When was Indian Independence Act 1947 passed?
- a) August 5, 1947
- b) July 5, 1947
- c) August 15, 1947
- d) None of these

Answer b) July 5, 1947

The Indian Independence Act, which was based on the Mountbatten plan of June 3, was passed by the British parliament on July 5, 1947 and received royal assent or approval on July 18, 1947.

<u>Techofworld.In</u> <u>Techofworld.In</u>

