1. When was Queen Victoria's Proclamation?

- a) 1857
- b) 1858
- c) 1862
- d) 1892

ANSWER: b) 1858

The common people of India were secured with the right to freedom of worship without any hindrance or interference from the state.

2. Who founded the Brahmo Samaj?

- a) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
- b) Dayananda Saraswati
- c) Raja Rammohan Roy
- d) Swami Vivekananda

ANSWER: c) Raja Rammohan Roy

In 1828 the Brahmo Samaj movement was founded by Raja Rammohan Roy. He is known as the father of modern India. The basis of Brahmo Samaj was the idea of "One God of all religions and humanity―.

3. Who was the founder of Arya Samaj?

- a) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
- b) Swami Dayanand
- c) Swami Shraddhanand
- d) Swami Vivekananda

ANSWER: b) Swami Dayanand

On 7 April 1875, Swami Dayanand founded Arya Samaj.

4. Who established Ramakrishna Mission?

- a) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
- b) Swami Dayanand
- c) Swami Shraddhanand
- d) Swami Vivekananda

ANSWER: d) Swami Vivekananda

Swami Vivekananda was the chief disciple of Ramakrishna Paramhamsa. The mission was founded on 1 May 1897 which is headquartered near Kolkata at Belur Math in Howrah, West Bengal.

- 5. When was Indian Association formed?
- a) 1876
- b) 1885
- c) 1886
- d) 1893

ANSWER: a) 1876

The association was founded in Bengal in 1876 by Surendranath Banerjee and Ananda Mohan Bose.

6. When was Indian National Congress founded?

- a) 1876
- b) 1885
- c) 1886
- d) 1893

ANSWER: b) 1885

The Indian National Congress was founded at Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College in Bombay on 28 December 1885. Allan Octavian Hume was the General Secretary and Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee of Calcutta was the President.

7. When was the Bengal province partitioned?

- a) 1905
- b) 1906
- c) 1911
- d) 1909

ANSWER: a) 1905

In July 1905, the Viceroy of India, Lord Curzon announced the Partition of Bengal. The partition took place in 16 October 1905 and separated the largely Muslim eastern areas from the largely Hindu western areas.

- 8. When was Indian Councils Act announced?
- a) 1905
- b) 1906
- c) 1909
- d) 1911

ANSWER: c) 1909

Indian Councils Act is commonly known as Morley-Minto Reforms. The reforms were named after Lord Morley, the Secretary of State for India and Lord Minto, the Indian Viceroy.

- 9. When was Dyarchy system introduced?
- a) 1911
- b) 1919
- c) 1920
- d) 1927

ANSWER: b) 1919

The Government of India Act 1919 was passed to expand participation of Indians in the Indian government. The Act embodied the Montague-Chelmsford reforms which were named after the Sectratary of State for India, Edwin Montagu, and the Viceroy, Lord Chelmsford. The Act provided a dual form of government which is known as "dyarchy" for the major provinces.

10. When was Rowlatt Act passed?

- a) 1919
- b) 1920
- c) 1927
- d) 1929

ANSWER: a) 1919

The Rowlatt Act was passed on the recommendations of the Rowlatt committee which was named after its president, British judge Sir Sidney Rowlatt. This act sanctioned the government to imprison any person suspected of terrorism without a trial for up to two years.