<u>Techofworld.In</u> <u>Techofworld.In</u>

- 21. Who started the first newspaper in India?
- a) Lord William Bentinck
- b) Ram Mohan Roy
- c) James Augustus Hicky
- d) None of these

## **Answer c) James Augustus Hicky**

Hickey's Bengal Gazette was an English newspaper published from Kolkata (then Calcutta), India. It was the first major newspaper in India, started in 1780. It was published for two years. Founded by James Augustus Hicky, a highly eccentric Irishman who had previously spent two years in Jail for debt.

- 22. Which Viceroy was known as 'The Father of Local Self-Government'?
- a) Charles Metcalfe
- b) Lord Ripon
- c) Lord Ellenborough
- d) None of these

## Answer b) Lord Ripon

Lord Ripon is known to have granted the Indians first taste of freedom by introducing the Local Self Government in 1882.

- 23. Who introduced doctrine of lapse in India?
- a) Lord Dalhousie
- b) Charles Metcalfe
- c) John Adam
- d) None of these

# Answer a) Lord Dalhousie

The doctrine of lapse was an annexation policy purportedly devised by Lord Dalhousie, who was the Governor General for the East India Company in India between 1848 and 1856.

- 24. When was Shimla made summer capital?
- a) 1872
- b) 1864
- c) 1856
- d) None of these

<u>Techofworld.In</u> <u>Techofworld.In</u>

### Answer b) 1864

In 1864 Shimla was declared as the summer capital of India. After Independence, Shimla became the capital of Punjab and was later named the capital of Himachal Pradesh. In 1903 a rail line was constructed between Kalka and Shimla.

## 25. In which year, the Hindu Widow Remarriage Act passed?

- a) 1856
- b) 1872
- c) 1862
- d) None of these

#### Answer a) 1856

The Hindu Widows' Remarriage Act, 1856, also Act XV, 1856, enacted on 26 July 1856, legalised the remarriage of Hindu widows in all jurisdictions of India under East India Company rule.

#### 26. Where did the Revolt of 1857 first break out?

- a) Ihansi
- b) Meerut Cantonment
- c) Lucknow
- d) None of these

#### **Answer b) Meerut Cantonment**

It was on May 10, 1857 that the Indian soldiers at the Meerut cantonment in modern UP revolted against the British. May 10, 1857.

- 27. In which year Calcutta, Bombay, and Madras University were established?
- a) 1857
- b) 1899
- c) 1852
- d) None of these

## Answer a) 1857

In 1857 CE, following the recommendations of a committee established by the British Indian government, the Acts incorporating Universities of Calcutta, Bombay and Madras were passed.

<u>Techofworld.In</u> <u>Techofworld.In</u>

- 28. When did the high courts in Calcutta, Madras and Bombay established?
- a) 1860
- b) 1858
- c) 1862
- d) None of these

#### **Answer c) 1862**

British India's three presidency towns of Madras (Chennai), Bombay (Mumbai), and Calcutta (Kolkata) were each granted a High Court by letters patent dated 26 June 1862. The letters patent were issued by Queen Victoria under the authority of the British parliament's Indian High Courts Act 1861.

- 29. Who founded the Indian Reform Association in 1870?
- a) Keshub Chandra Sen
- b) Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar
- c) Ram Mohan Roy
- d) None of these

## Answer a) Keshub Chandra Sen

The Indian Reform Association was formed on 29 October 1870 with Keshub Chunder Sen as president. It represented the secular side of the Brahmo Samaj and included many who did not belong to the Brahmo Samaj.

- 30. When was the Satya Shodhak Samaj founded?
- a) 1844
- b) 1875
- c) 1873
- d) None of these

#### Answer c) 1873

Satyashodhak Samaj (Truth-seekers' Society) is a social reform society founded by Jyotirao Phule in Pune, India, on 24 September 1873. Its purpose was to liberate the less privileged in the then prevailing society such as women, Shudra, and Dalit from exploitation and oppression.