<u>Techofworld.In</u> <u>Techofworld.In</u>

- 11. Who was the first British Governor General in India?
- a) Warren Hastings
- b) John Shore
- c) Lord Dalhousie.
- d) None of these

### **Answer a) Warren Hastings**

Warren Hastings became the first Governor General of Fort Williams by Regulating Act of 1773 by which the the governor of Madras and Bombay presidencies became subordinatecto him. The first Governor General of India was William Benetick by Charter Act of 1833 but continued to hold as the governor general of Bengal.

- 12. When did Ranjit Singh sign a treaty of perpetual friendship with British at Amritsar?
- a) 1809
- b) 1805
- c) 1816
- d) None of these

# Answer a) 1809

Treaty of Amritsar, (April 25, 1809), pact concluded between Charles T. Metcalfe, representing the British East India Company, and Ranjit Singh, head of the Sikh kingdom of Punjab. The treaty settled Indo-Sikh relations for a generation.

- 13. Who was the Governor General of the East India Company during the period of Anglo Nepal war?
- a) John Adam
- b) Francis Edward Rawdon-Hastings
- c) The Lord Minto
- d) None of these

Answer b) Francis Edward Rawdon-Hastings. The Battle of Nalapani was the first battle of the Anglo-Nepalese War of 1814–1816, fought between the forces of the British East India Company and Nepal, then ruled by the House of Gorkha. Francis Edward Rawdon-Hastings, British Governor-General of India, declared war on the Gurkhas of Nepal.

- 14. Who earned the epithet 'Liberator of the Indian Press' Title?
- a) Lord Amhers
- b) William Butterworth Bayley
- c) Charles Metcalfe
- d) None of these

#### **Answer c) Charles Metcalfe**

Charles Metcalfe is governor general is known as liberator of press.

Techofworld.In Techofworld.In

- 15. Who introduced Ryotwari system in Madras?
- a) Lord Dalhousie
- b) Warren Hastings
- c) Thomas Munro
- d) None of these

### Answer c) Thomas Munro

In the East India Company territories, the Ryotwari system was introduced by Thomas Munroe and Captain Reed first in Madras presidency. It was later extended to Bombay, Parts of Bengal, Assam, Coorg etc. This system was exactly opposite to the Zamindari system.

- 16. When was the Calcutta Hindu College (now Presidency University) established?
- a) 1809
- b) 1817
- c) 1825
- d) None of these

# Answer b) 1817

It was established as Hindu College, on January 20, 1817 in Calcutta. Raja Ram Mohan Roy, the great social reformer, headed its foundation committee. It was later renamed as Presidency College in 1855. It was placed under the control of the University of Calcutta in 1857.

- 17. Who was the first Indian to qualify for the Indian Civil Services?
- a) Dwarkanath Tagore
- b) Debendranath Tagore
- c) Satyendranath Tagore
- d) None of these

#### Answer c) Satyendranath Tagore

Satyendranath Tagore was the first Indian ICS officer. Indian Civil Services Act of 1870 went for the Indianisation of the Civil Services.

- 18. Who stopped sati system in India?
- a) Lord William Bentinck
- b) John Adam
- c) Lord Auckland
- d) None of these

#### Answer a) Lord William Bentinck

The Bengal Sati Regulation which banned the Sati practice in all jurisdictions of British India was passed on December 4, 1829 by the then Governor-General Lord William Bentinck. The regulation described the practice of Sati as revolting to the feelings of human nature.

<u>Techofworld.In</u> <u>Techofworld.In</u>

- 19. Who established Tattvabodhini Sabha?
- a) Hemendranath Tagore
- b) Raja Ram Mohan Roy
- c) Debendranath Tagore
- d) None of these

# **Answer c) Debendranath Tagore**

On 6 October 1839 Debendranath Tagore established Tattvaranjini Sabha which was shortly thereafter renamed the Tattwabodhini (Truth-seekers) Sabha. Initially confined to immediate members of the Tagore family, in 2 years it mustered over 500 members.

- 20. Who founded Indian Home Rule Society London?
- a) Raja Rammohan Roy
- b) Shyamji Krishna Varma
- c) Manmohan Ghosh
- d) None of these

# Answer b) Shyamji Krishna Varma

The organisation was founded by Shyamji Krishna Varma, with support from a number of prominent Indian nationalists in Britain in 1905, including Bhikaji Cama, Dadabhai Naoroji and S.R.Rana.